I just learned something about LJ.
If you make a 'friends only' post, and then a bunch of people comment on it, and then you make it public, all the comments will be immediately and irrevocably deleted.
I understand the reasoning for this behavior, and I can accept it. I just wish I'd known before I lost those comments.
At least I still have the email notification archive.